This weeks readings rasied perspectives that I have found supported in the literacture for my topic. There is an interesting examination of the educators role and the child’s role in technology. The common thread is that the educator or the adult role is an influential part of the process.  If the role is examined through constictivism and constructionism than I do not believe the adult must be fluent in the technology in order to support children become fluent in the technology.

The idea’s presented in Lindsay’s article demonstrated the possibiliteis for development of social skills.  These ideas presented a challenge to some of the stereotypical images of a person sitting isolated working with technology. This was further illustrated in the Lego technology. I found it illustrated the notion of moving away from learning from technology to learning with technology. It seemed evident that the students were learning skills beyond the lego material that ranged from collaboration, to the computer literacy skills to post their products on Utube.

Lastly, Stephanie’s article is one that I have referenced for my paper. I am referring to digital camera’s as an illustration of children learning with technology. I have foudn it challenging to find research. I think that I need to look in photography journal’s perhaps. Digital camera’s seem to be an aspect of technology that many educators are comfortable using and are beginning to ‘trust’ children using camera’s more indepentdently. It is fascinating to see the process of their changng perspectivies as they learn how the camera can capture images.

I plan to ask children in a classroom next week some questions about taking photographs and what they think about using a  camera. I thought I would ask a group of children who’s teacher uses the camera, a group of children who have access to cameras and a group of children who’s classroom does not have a camera available. I am curious to hear what they have to say and I wonder what will emerge from each of the groups.